Matthew Robinson - Northern School of Contemporary Dance


Artistic Director

The company is led by Artistic Director Matthew Robinson. Matthew is a practicing artist having worked as a dancer, choreographer, teacher, mentor and rehearsal director.

For many years Matthew danced for Scottish Dance Theatre (SDT), working with an exciting international company of dancers, performing work by a diverse range of international choreographers, including Sharon Eyal, Damien Jalet, Hofesh Shechter, and Victor Quijada amongst many others

In 2013 he was invited to take on the responsibilities of Rehearsal Director at SDT and assisted numerous choreographers in the creation of new works, also supporting the company on national and international tours.

As choreographer Matthew researches and creates his own work in independent, collaborative and commissioned contexts, presenting his work internationally, leading classes and workshops. Matthew’s ‘NEVERSINK’, created for VERVE toured across the UK and Europe in 2018.

Matthew is a graduate of London Contemporary Dance School.

Performance Artefacts

Original creations as performer with (in chronological order): Ben Duke, Janet Smith, Marc Brew, Caroline Bowditch, Kate Weare, Ben Levy, Rachel Lopez de la Nieta, Joan Cleville, Sally Owen, Victor Quijada, Henri Oguike, Fleur Darkin, Damien Jalet, Sharon Eyal

Performed in work by: Liv Lorent, Hofesh Shechter, James Wilton

Professional Activity and Research Interests


Scottish Dance Theatre

The Playground, New York City, NY USA

Guest Lecturer at The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland

Guest Lecturer at Scottish School of Contemporary Dance

Guest Lecturer at Northern School of Contemporary Dance

Guest Lecturer at West College Scotland

Professional Class at The Place, London

Professional Class at Dance City, Newcastle

Rehearsal Direction

For Scottish Dance Theatre, assisted creations by and/or rehearsal directed for: Jorge Crecis, Anton Lachky, Fleur Darkin, Jo Stromgren

For VERVE rehearsing work by: Mari Carrasco, Botis Seva, Lali Ayguadé, Douglas Thorpe, Ben Wright, Noa Zuk, Maxine Doyle, Joan Cleville, Sita Ostheimer, Lenka Vagnerova, Hannes Langolf, James Cousins, Leila McMillan, Matthias Sperling and Carlos Pons Guerra.

In 2020/21 assisting in creations and rehearsing work by Barnaby Booth and Caroline Finn.

Choreographic Physical Research

2013 – ‘Indecision’ Choreodrome, The Place

2014/15 – ‘The Lees of Happiness’ The Place Summer House, and Scottish Dance Theatre

Choreographic Artefacts

Choreographic Commissions


2017 While we wait, Royal Conservatoire Scotland

2016 Office, Project Y

2016 Between four walls, Royal Conservatoire Scotland

2016 After rain, West College Scotland

2015 Party and Camping, West College Scotland

2014 Love, Scottish Dance Theatre PARK

2014 What we leave behind, West College Scotland

2013 May Day, Scottish School of Contemporary Dance

2013 Tremors, West College Scotland

2010 Balloons, Scottish Dance Theatre Backstage Pass

2009 For a second I stood, Scottish School of Contemporary Dance

Collaborative Work

CALIFORNIA Project, collaborations at distance (

2020 feather river (in collaboration with Dorna Ashory)

2020 silver lake (in collaboration with Theo Arran)

2020 north beach (in collaboration with Luigi Nardone)

In collaboration with dance artist Toby Fitzgibbons:

2012 Why wait for what, for wait for when, touring to Dundee and London

2011 Some other future, touring Dundee, Liverpool and London

Independent work

2014/15 The Lees of happiness (Research and Development) Based on the Novella by F. Scott Fitzgerland. Supported by The Place and Scottish Dance Theatre

2013 Indecision (Research and Development) Supported by Arts Council England and The Place

2012/13 Vacant Skin Supported by Scottish Dance Theatre