Honorary Fellows - Northern School of Contemporary Dance

Since 2017, Northern School of Contemporary Dance has awarded Honorary Fellowships to exceptional individuals within the world of dance. Currently the highest award the School is able to bestow, these prestigious titles are given in recognition of an individual’s exceptional contribution to the School, Contemporary Dance and the cultural ecology at large.

Fellowships are conferred as part of our Graduation ceremonies, and our Honorary Fellows inspire our students through their vision, passion and commitment to shaping the future of dance.

Honorary Fellows


Akram Khan MBE (Acclaimed choreographer and founder of Akram Khan Company)

Gail Parmel (co-founder and Artistic Director of ACE Dance and Music)


Sharon Watson (Artistic Director of Leeds-based Phoenix Dance Theatre)

Miranda Tufnell (dance artist, teacher and respected author of Body, Space, Image: Notes Towards Improvisation)


Wayne McGregor (Artistic Director of Studio Wayne McGregor and Company Wayne McGregor, Resident Choreographer at The Royal Ballet)

Gary Clarke (award-winning choreographer and one of the UK’s leading independent dance artists)